LOS ANGELES — At the end of a transformative NASCAR experience that took the City of Angels by storm, Joey Logano held off pole winner Kyle Busch to triumph in Sunday’s Busch Light Clash at the Coliseum.

Logano got the lead on Lap 116, moments before Kyle Larson retaliated against Justin Haley for earlier contact that was not of Haley’s doing. Larson steered toward the bottom of the track, knocking Haley’s Chevrolet into the concrete Jersey barrier on the frontstretch.

In the competitive debut of the Next Gen race car, Logano had control of the race for the restart on Lap 117 and held the top spot to the finish, with Busch frustrated in pursuit on the quarter-mile track.

The race itself crystallized into a battle between Logano, Busch, Larson and Austin Dillon. After the final restart, Larson briefly took second from Busch, who regained the spot with more than 20 laps left and charged after Logano.

Dillon passed Larson to finish third, and Erik Jones ran fourth after overtaking Larson in the closing laps. Larson held fifth, as William Byron, Cole Custer, Christopher Bell, A.J. Allmendinger and Kevin Harvick completed the top 10.

Busch earned the pole position for the main event with a wire-to-wire victory in Sunday’s first heat race, with Daniel Suarez, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Ryan Blaney joining him in the Clash as the second-, third- and fourth-place finishers.

Blaney used his bumper to shove past Denny Hamlin to claim the final transfer spot from the opening heat.

Drivers who started first won all four heat races, with no one else leading a lap. Tyler Reddick dominated Heat 2 as Chase Briscoe, Dillon and Custer qualified behind him.

Haley took the third heat, with Byron, Bell and Chase Elliott joining him in the main event. In Heat 4, Logano and Larson ran 1-2, with Michael McDowell and Jones taking the final two transfer positions.

The second LCQ was utter chaos. Ty Dillon took the checkered flag but was demoted to the rear for jumping the final restart with three of the 50 laps left.

That gave Ryan Preece the race win and the final two transfer spots to Bubba Wallace and Harrison Burton.

Sports Editor